MPC Sample Truncation (cutting)

- ask away
DJXMS
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

MPC Sample Truncation (cutting)

Post by DJXMS »

Hi, if you use/know much about the Akai Mpc I'd love to pick your brain. I'm working on some tracks & I keep hitting the same issue.. it's killin' my creative process. I'm fairly new to the MPC interface, but have read my manual back N' forth & can't find a solution.

Here is the issue: I record a sample, say four bars worth of synth. I assign it to a pad, sounds good, plays all 4 bars. I go to record it into a sequence, and it truncates (cuts) after 2 measures. The sample is:

1. All there when played w/o sequencer running
2. Set to 'One Shot'
3. Decay is set to 0 and start mode.
4. No Mute Group is set that would interrupt the sample in play.
5. Sample start and end points are set to full value.

WTF else should I be checking/changing? please, if you have any ideas, hit me up!

Much appreciate any feedback, thanks,
~Steve
lcvl
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by lcvl »

poliphony issue?
Dubby music & free samples http://leocavallo.bandcamp.com
gosh
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Post by gosh »

Hmm.
That does sound a little strange and you appear to have checked all major things.

I'm not in front of my MPC right now so can't offer anything else to check but...couple of questions.

What MPC are you using? Are you running Akai OS or JJ OS?

I run a 2500 with JJOS2XL and my friend has the same but on MPC1000. He came across a problem which sounded very similar - samples were cutting out despite everything being set up correctly and having plenty of polyphony left. We racked our brains for ages and eventually he emailed JJ himself and it was found to be a bug and fixed within 36 hours (pretty impressive for 3rd party OS).
Are you running most up-to date OS?